ANGELS ARE REAL!   Leave a comment

ANGELS ARE REAL!

For he shall give his angels charge over thee, to keep thee in all thy ways.

They shall bear thee up in their hands, lest thou dash thy foot against a stone.

                                                                                               Ps. 91:11-12 KJV

**************************************************************************************

One thing sticks out in my mind when I read the passage above.  When I was a child, my grandfather had a picture of an angel helping two children across a rickety old wooden bridge in his parlor. After a little research on the internet I found out that the name of the painting is Heilige Schutzengel (German for Guardian Angel) and that the artist is only known as Lindberg.  If you are familiar with the painting you know that the angel is represented in traditional fashion, complete with wings.

 

Several years ago my wife and I were traveling on a desolate stretch of interstate in Texas when I suddenly and unexpectedly blacked, cold.  Fortunately for us and the other travelers on the road, my wife was able to steer the car into the median without going across into oncoming traffic while she was sitting in the passenger seat.  It was Thanksgiving Day.  In less than five minutes a car traveling in the opposite direction stopped and out stepped an angel.  I’m talking a flesh and blood, oxygen breathing angel in the form of a human being.  Now you might think that I’m exaggerating because of the extreme circumstances.  Well then, you explain why the person that I am referring to was, 1.) an off duty EMT and 2.) a bible quoting Christian!

 

Shortly after the first angel stopped, two more gentle souls behind us also stopped to render aid.  One pulled out his cell phone to call 9-1-1.  When the ambulance came and it was time to take me to the hospital, the two other angels offered to drive our car and follow us in order that my wife could ride in the ambulance with me. None of these three angels had wings, at least that we could see.  Nonetheless, there is not a person under God’s blue heaven that will convince me that this was all “coincidence” and that these three were nothing more than human beings.

 

A Christian medical person traveling alone who stopped to give us aid and two other complete strangers who delivered our car to the hospital minutes after we arrived. I’ll believe a lot my friend, but that one is no coincidence, it was the work of The Lord.  Psalm 91 is as real to me today as that day several years ago when we met face to face three of God’s workers that “steadied us with their hands to keep us from stumbling against the rocks on our interstate trail.”

 

So the next time someone starts talking to you about angels, just remember, they are not just cute little chunky babies floating around in some painting or beautiful figures dressed in flowing white gowns helping two children in some old piece of artwork.  They are real and they walk this earth every day doing God’s work.  I know, I’ve met them face to face.

 

 BIBLE REFERENCES

Gen. 18:2, 8, 22

Ps. 91

Heb. 13:2

*********************************************

J. Boudreaux

2012

NOTE:  All original written material or original graphics are property of the originator and author of this blog (unless otherwise noted), can only be used or reproduced with my written permission and must contain a link or reference to https://quietstreams.wordpress.com  when use is permitted.

Leave a Reply

