WHY ME LORD?   2 comments

And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people.

LUKE 2:10

******************************************************************************

Every year at Thanksgiving at my brother’s home, everyone at the table is required to give an explanation of what they are thankful for before we start eating. This year when it was my turn, I gave a list of all of my medical problems over the last eleven years.  I did this not to elicit sympathy from the rest of the family, but to mention all of the trials and triumphs that I experienced.  When I was finished, I ended by reciting the words from the first stanza of Kris Kristerofferson’s song “Why Me Lord? What have I ever done to deserve even one of the pleasures I’ve known?”

Later as I listened to the words of the song, I pondered what would His answer be.  Almost immediately without missing a beat He answered: “Nothing. You see I did it all for you because I love you.”

As we celebrate His birthday this year, let’s all remember that we didn’t have to do a thing.  All we have to do is believe.  Believe that He is the Son of the Living God. Believe that He came to earth for the sole purpose of going to the cross to pay for our sins.  Believe that He is coming back to complete the task which was started when we confessed our sins and made Him Lord of our lives.  Believe that we have the gift of eternal life. That’s all.  Believe.

So this year, while all of the gifts are being passed out, remember the greatest gift of all.  His gift of love.  Jesus wants us to spread it around like the cream cheese icing on Grandma’s Red Velvet cake.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you and yours from me and mine.

Jay.

********************************************************

SUGGESTED READING: Luke 2:1-20

**********************************

NOTE: All original written material or original graphics are my property (unless otherwise noted), can only be used or reproduced with my written permission and must contain a link or reference to https://quietstreams.wordpress.com when use is permitted. ALL LINKS REFERENCED ON Quiet Streams ARE UNSOLICITED AND THE AUTHOR OF THIS BLOG IS NOT COMPENSATED IN ANY FORM, MONETARILY OR OTHERWISE.  SOME ADS APPEAR AS A CONDITION OF USE OF WORDPRESS.COM’S SOFTWARE AND SERVER SPACE AND THE AUTHOR OF THIS BLOG IS IN NO WAY RESPONSIBLE FOR THEIR APPEARANCE AND HAS ABSOLUTELY NO CONTROL OVER THEIR APPEARANCE IN QUIET STREAMS.

2 responses to “WHY ME LORD?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Merry Christmas to you! and best wishes for the coming year. I hope your holidays are filled with joy and love – and plenty of treats like that Red Velvet cake!

    • Well as I live and breathe! How have you been? It’s nice to hear from you after so long. We’re having a great Christmas and look forward to a bright new year. As a matter of fact we did have some red velvet cake today and it was great. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you also. And as always thanks for stopping by. Jay

Leave a Reply

